Seiko's latest album "Shing Star", released on 2016/06/08, had sales of 13,000 copies in the first week and was ranked 5th in the weekly Oricon Album Chart for 2016/06/06-06/12.

This is Seiko's 48th album to be in Top 10, and Seiko is ranked 2nd in for the female artists whose albums ranked in Top 10.

This is her 50th original album in her 36th years in show business. The album includes "Summer Time Magic" which was used as a commercial song for "Sunglass" by Megane Ichiba, an optical company.


As it's been a huge news in Japan, this will be Seiko's second consecutive year that she will be the last performer of NHK Kōhaku Uta Gassen.

Surprisingly, she will be singing "Akai Sweetpeas" for the first time on the annual event. One of Japan's biggest music extravaganza will be aired on 2015/12/31 at 7:15pm.

It will also be available on TV Japan, NHK's international station, live at 5:15am EST/2:15am PST, and the replay will be at 9:00pm EST/6:00pm PST.

Most of the award recipients for the Japan Record Award were selected on 11/20. Seiko received the Best Vocal Performance Award, which is her first award in 23 years as a solo. She received the Planning Award for her duet with Chris Hart in 2013.

It will also be her first solo performance when the annual award ceremony will be aired on 12/23.